Addendum: Dante Micheaux on “Black Gay Poet, or Gay Black Poet, or Poet”

by Olaf Hajek

Dante Micheaux‘s response to “Black Gay Poet, or Gay Black Poet, or Poet” adds insight worth sharing:

I was an undergraduate when José Muñoz was just beginning to make a name for himself. His book DISIDENTIFICATIONS: QUEERS OF COLOR AND THE PERFORMANCE OF POLITICS was all the rage in my circle and off they went, my Queer friends, to put Muñoz’s theory into practice. I never could get behind disidentifying. I wanted all the identities at once. In some respects, I still do. I much enjoy telling the world, when it gets up in face, “Yes. I am that, too. And what?” When I think about being a poet, however, I have to question which aspect of my multidentity is responsible for that being. If I were not Black, I would still be a poet but I do not believe my being a poet would be possible if I were not a homosexual. My sexuality was the catalyst for childhood introspection and, having to keep a major part of myself hidden, forced me to hone my powers of observation. I had to be aware of everything around me, to protect myself when I thought no one else would. As the images and language began to commandeer the synapses, an outlet was needed. Poetry. I think all poets must have an experience that makes them see themselves outside the center of things. For me, it was the gift of homosexuality–for which I am eternally grateful.

One response to “Addendum: Dante Micheaux on “Black Gay Poet, or Gay Black Poet, or Poet”

  1. here is a fb page i started where SGL/Settian/Gay poets and writers can join and post their work if you want to join us just ask me at the page much thanks and brotherly love david

    http://www.facebook.com/groups/BHeCominfSettian/

Leave a Reply

