Reasons to Keep Burning

by Will Penny

Last night, at Bar 13, I was so happy to join a packed room full of poets to celebrate the release of Marie-Elizabeth Mali’s book Steady, My Gaze. Marie-Elizabeth has been such a good friend & has always supported my writing process. It meant a lot to be there with her & so many great writers. Do check out her work. You won’t be disappointed. (Also, thanks everyone who came out. That was the first time I read “Post-Apocalyptic Heartbeat” and your love gave me the push I needed.)

Looking ahead: I’ll be reading at Rainbow Bookfair’s Poet Salon this Saturday, March 26 at 2pm. The event will take place at the LGBT Center (208 West 13th Street.) It’s a marathon reading that will feature some of the fiercest poets New York City has to offer. Here are the details.

Finally, expect to see some new work in the May 2011 issue of Connotation Press, guest edited by the brilliant Anna Journey.

Leave a Reply

