Acceptance (No, Not That Kind… This Kind)

by Phyllis Galembo

  • I just found out the other day that “Deepwater” a poem inspired by the Deepwater Horizon disaster has been accepted for publication by Poets For Living Waters. PFLW is an amazing project & I’m thrilled to be a part of it now. I’ll let you know when the poem is available online.
  • Do you have a play favorites among your own poems? Of course, I like all of my poems – they’re mine after all – but I love some poems more than others. Fortunately, “Body & Kentucky Bourbon” one of my definite favorites will appear in the next issue of the Nagatuck River Review. Hurrah. (Dear other poems, I love you too. I swear.)
  • Lambda Literary asked several writers to remember the life & work of E. Lynn Harris, the black gay novelist who died unexpectedly last year. Here’s my essay “Just As He Was: E. Lynn Harris.”
  • Union Station Magazine published two poems from my MFA Thesis “Room 31” and “Jerome, or The Ressurectionist,” one of which I absolutely refuse to let my mother read. I’ll let you guess which one. Also, going forward I will be a regular contributor to Union Station. Check out my literary playlist: Danse! Danse! Macabre!
  • Finally, if you’re in the NYC area on August 30th, you should come see me feature at LouderARTS. It’s going to be a great night, I promise. Here are the details.
3 responses to “Acceptance (No, Not That Kind… This Kind)

  1. I am sure I will be partial to your favorite as well. Can’t wait to check it out. Will you post a follow up link/reminder?

  2. jessiecarty

    I remember having a discussion about one of my favorite lines a poem I liked a lot when my book was going through final prep. My editor thought I had too much alliteration but I fought to keep it 🙂

    Congrats on your recent success!

  3. Hi Saeed,

    Please can you contact me at the email provided. I work for a poetry project in Cape Town. We are interested in your work. Look forward to hearing from you.

    Best

    Mimi

Leave a Reply

