Remembering John Stahle

by Jimmy Baker

I wanted to take a moment and remember John Stahle. John was the editor of Ganymede – one of the most beautiful queer literary journals I’ve ever seen – and, more importantly, a good friend. I had the pleasure of meeting him last summer at a Wilde Boys Queer Poetry Salon and read him a few of my poems. He brought such vivacity to the discussion of what it means to be a gay poet (and obviously that question is something I’ve continued to ponder – in part because of his enduring influence.)

To be an editor is to make a home for poets & their work. Ganymede published well known writers like David Sedaris as well as countless emerging poets (myself included.) I think one of the best things we can do for one another, as artists, is find a way to embrace each other’s work & put our poems into dialogue with one another. John made that happen for us.

John passed away quite unexpectedly this April and will be greatly missed.

Sleep well, poet.

3 responses to “Remembering John Stahle

  1. jessiecarty

    So many poets I never had a chance to know šŸ˜¦

  2. George Worthington

    John was a good and dear friend and I was saddened on learning of his sudden passing. Since I relocated to Houston, we spoke by phone regularly but infrequently; I always called him on his birthday, 16 December. Your use of the word “vivacity” is apt certainly. He was passionate about creativity, writing, design, editing, and so many related things. Taling with John about his intellectual pursuits was always enjoyable — he was insightful, knowledgeable and eager. I’ll miss him.

  3. Fitting tribute. Wish I knew John myself.

Leave a Reply

