Dante Micheaux: What Makes a Poem Gay?

by Justin Wijers

Poet Dante Micheaux gives us a short but great answer.

What makes a poem Gay (I assume you mean one the words from the grand initialism that identifies our community) is the same thing that makes a person Gay: some evidence of, be it full-time or part-time, homoerotic desire.

3 responses to “Dante Micheaux: What Makes a Poem Gay?

  1. Bryan Borland

    Saeed,

    This is a fantastic ongoing series. I am enjoying it immensely.

    I self-identify as a gay poet. It’s a label I embrace, mostly because when I was younger, I *needed* a gay poet or gay poetry to feel whole, and I had some difficulty filling that need. I want to make it easy for others with similar needs to find me.

    That said, to me, what makes a poem gay is its reader, its audience. A poem is whatever the reader makes it. When I write a poem, I’m gifting it to you, the reader. Once it enters the mind (and, if I am lucky, the soul) of the reader, it becomes the reader’s property. I have no say in the matter.

    Keep it up, Saeed.

  2. Pingback: What makes a poem gay? « ] Outside The Lines [

  3. Important conversation, Saeed. Dante’s terse response resonates for me. I want it to be that simple.

Leave a Reply

