Reading My Way into 2010

I was so busy this past semester with my thesis & other academic concerns that I didn’t get to read as much as I would like. Heading in 2010, my goal has been to buy several books a week. Here are some of the books that I’m reading or planning to read as I Naomi Campbell walk my way into the new year.

The Fire This Time – Randall Kenan

Walking on Water – Randall Kenan

Book of Salt – Monique Truong

One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez (re-reading)

Giovanni’s Room – James Baldwin (re-reading)

Portrait of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde

Willful Creatures – Aimee Bender

Playing in the Dark: Whiteness & the Literary Imagination – Toni Morrison(re-reading)

Paradise – Toni Morrison

The Writer’s Notebook: Craft Essays from Tin House

6 responses to “Reading My Way into 2010

  1. I hope you love Paradise as much as I do. I’ve read it at least 3 times.

  2. I hate Playing in the Dark.

  3. Great line up! i need to go back and read Marquez. I read “Love in the Time of Cholera” when I was a senior in high school and that was SOOO long ago 🙂

  4. Paradise is one of my favorites. I had to read it twice because I was obsessing over who the white girl was. I learned (after the first reading that resulted in my throwing the book across the room, that it doesn’t matter who the white girl is. It’s an amazing novel. Thanks for loving it too. 🙂

  5. Pingback: For Those Hungry for More Poetry « Bird Fly Good

  6. Just finished Willful Creatures. Wonderful stories.

Leave a Reply

