Currently Reading: A Reader’s Playlist

I plan on doing mini-reviews of some of these books pretty soon, but for now, here’s a list of a few books I’m reading at the moment.

On These I Stand by Countee Cullen

What I love I about this particular collection is that Cullen selected the poems himself. I’m really enjoying how the poems deal with race, religion, and sexuality. (Homosexuality – as pointed out by the next book on this list.) Unfortunately, this amazing book is out of print. You can probably find it at the library though. I did.

Gay Voices of the Harlem Renaissance by A.B. Christa Schwarz

Talk about an eye opener. Schwarz re-visits the work of familiar authors – Countee Cullen, Claude McKay, Bruce Nugent, and Langston Hughes – but discusses their work and their identities as men who loved men. You’ll never think of “The Weary Blues” the same way again!

Best American Essays: 2008 (edited) by Adam Gopnik

It’s always great to see the myriad ways people approach the creative essay. My favorites: “Cracking Open” by Patricia Brieschke and “Buzzards” by Lee Zacharias. These two women are fearless writers.

Leave a Reply

