A Peculiar Kind of Writer’s Block

I’m not going to lie ya’ll. I’ve been trying to write all damn day and I have very little to show for it. Often, when I’m having trouble putting lines together, I will change things up. Having trouble writing in free verse? Maybe the poem needs some meter. Try writing it as a triolet. Give yourself a set number of syllables for each line.  That little trick usually helps me get the words flowing, but not today. Honestly, I’m too anxious about this election. It’s been two very long years.. well, eight very long years, now that I think about it, and so much is at stake. I sent in my absentee ballot a couple of weeks ago and prayed (literally, prayed) that my vote would be counted. There seems to be so many horror stories going around about ballots being tossed out for shady reasons. With all this anxiety and excitement going on, it’s hard for me to find my rhythm. It’s not the end of the world. It just means I will start again tomorrow. Hopefully, I will be able to write a poem about Michelle picking out new curtains for the Oval Office.

Leave a Reply

